About Our Club
Related Pages
Photo Albums

 On August 23, 1937, The Rotary Club of Kirklandas admitted to membership in Rotary International, and on September 20the the charter presentation banquest was held in the Kirkland High School.

Neighboring clubs represented at the banquet included Seattle, Everett, Port Angeles, Oak Harbor, Sumner, Tacoma and Vancouver, B.C.  

The Charter Members of the Rotary Club of Kirkland are listed in the files of Rotary International as follows:

Armstead, Frank Robert

Bond, Basil B.

Cowan, William V.

Delkin, Fred L.

Davis, George H.

Everest, Harold P.

Griswold, Roger

Halvorson, Clarence B.

Hartranft, William G.

Iverson, Henry B.

Johnson, Leroy

Keeling, Howard G.

Lawson, Jack

Little, William C.

MacGinnitie, Herbert J.

McCreedy, Warren R.

McKibben, Ernest C.

Pair, Paul M.

Powell, Maurice B.

Russel, Evan S.

Shinstrom, Clayton A.

Skinner, John W.

Thompson, John C.

Wallin, John F.

Wert, M.L.

Zable, Fred J.

The following were the charter Officers:

Henry Iverson, President

William C. Little, Vice-President

Maurice Powell, Secretary

M.L. Wert, Treasurer

J.C. Thompson, Sergeant-at-arms

Original non-charter members - The charter banquet program listed sixteen additional men, who became full-fledged Rotarians at the same time as the twenty-six charter members.  Their names are:

Stanley Ballard                                                                           S. Dean Peterson

Carl H. Benson                                                                           Nelson Rochester

E. Frank Davis                                                                             Francis Rotch

Einar H. Fretheim                                                                       William W. Ruggles

Glenn M. Johnson                                                                      Douglas H. Slade

John Paul Jones                                                                         Philip R. Smith

Howard B. Lee                                                                            Sivert Stenesen

Fred W. McCullough                                                                   Richard A. Taylor